Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for Kids First determines the mission, strategic direction, and future programming of the organization. We thank our board members for helping Kids First be an outstanding organization providing legal representation and services for children and separated families.

Scott Bennett
       President & CEO, Nations Financial Group

Jace Bisgard, JD - Secretary
       Attorney: Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, PLC

Lynn W. Hartman, JD
       Attorney: Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman

Joe Kirby
       Community Volunteer

Ann Hammond, JD - President
       Community Volunteer

James D. Klein
        Executive Vice President & Chief Lending Officer: Cedar Rapids Bank & Trust

Mindy Sorg - Past President
       Senior Interior Designer: OPN Architects, Inc.

Vernon Squires
       Attorney: Bradley & Riley PC

Carley Umstead, CPA - Treasurer
       Senior Manager: RSM US


Advisory Board for the Greater Des Moines Area

Christy Cownie, JD
       Community Volunteer

Mary Pat Gunderson, JD
       Former Judge, Fifth Judicial District of Iowa

Caroline Jones
       Consultant: Caroline Jones Social
       Media Development

Michael Dunham-LaGree
        Sales Representative: Confluence Brewing Company

Kathleen Murrin
       Community Volunteer

Tim Pearson, JD
       Attorney: Laden & Pearson, PC

Anjela Shutts, JD
       Attorney: Whitfield & Eddy Law

Elizabeth Brennen
       Teacher: Montessori Childrens House

Stephanie Pickens, JD
       Community Volunteer

Kids First Law Center

420 6th St. SE Ste. 160

Cedar Rapids, IA 52401

(319) 365-5437


501 SW 7th St. Ste. G6

Des Moines, IA 50309

(515) 414-9562


Jan 16, 2019, 9:02 AM
At Kids First, we help prepare children for a successful adulthood by teaching them social-emotional skills. Whether it is teaching children in divorce workshops the importance of talking about their…